Skip to content

Code of Ethics Review

April 26, 2013

When viewing the interactive media ethics situations I found myself stuck in between two possible actions to take.  In the specific case about the Controversial Images, it was hard to decide what route to take.  If I was the parent of these poor high school students, I would not want my child’s dead bloody body being shown all over the news papers.  But when I put it in to the point of view as if I was the journalist/editor, I personally don’t think I could run a gruesome photo that is so personal towards that family.  That is not my business to show that photo. We as journalists can tell a story using either a different photo and/or explaining the incident and what had happened.  I know that not publishing the photograph goes against my job duties, but I don’t think I could publish the photo.  It is morally wrong to me.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment